INSTRUCTORS LIST

Texas Line Dance Instructors List

The Texas Line Dance Instructors support the Jamboree through their teaching efforts, and by representing their classes in selecting Primary dances for the Jam. 

Below is the list of instructors by CITY, and alphabetically by LAST name.

If you would like additional information about a particular instructor, such as where they teach, the level they teach, their class times, a short bio about them, and how to contact them… you may search by selecting the letter of their LAST name below.

If you are instructor and would like to vote on Primary dances, as well as have your class information such as, where you teach, what level, class times… then please click INSTRUCTORS ONLY  and add your information.



Michelle Schroeder
Bio: I am a former native Houstonian who has made her new home New Braunfels! I have taught various forms of dance to all ages as my career and livelihood for the past 38 years. Line dancing and social dance have become my passion to do and teach for the past several years. I have met so many friendly and fun line dancers and teachers and I feel so lucky to be a part of the Texas line dance community and share my passion with others.
Class City: New Braunfels, Schertz
Class Location: New Braunfels (Comal Senior Center & NB Dance & Company); Schertz (Schertz Community Center & Schertz Senior Center)
Age Group: all
Cost: varies... $3 Schertz Community Center (for one or both classes), Schertz Senior Center (free for members), $5 Comal Senior Center (members free), $10 NB Dance & Company
Beginner: Schertz Community Center - Tuesday, 9:30-10:30 am; Schertz Senior Center - Monday & Wednesday, 1:45 - 2:30 pm
Improver: Comal County Senior Citizen's Foundation (New Braunfels) - Monday, 4:00 - 5:00 pm
Intermediate: Schertz Community Center - Tuesday, 10:45 - 11:30 am
Advanced: NB Dance & Company (New Braunfels) - Thursday, 1:00 - 3:00 pm
Connie Shell
Bio: Started line dancing about 1985 took a class at the Linn Benton Community College, in Albany, Oregon. I was a founder and now honorary member of High Steppin' Country Dance Club that celebrated 30 yrs 2019. I teach classes in Cedar Park, Pflugerville and 2 Senior Centers in Austin. My reward is watching dancers improve, enjoy dancing, social connections and support.
Class City: Cedar Park, Pflugerville and Austin
Class Location: Cedar Park Rec Center, Pflugerville Rec Center, Lamar Senior Activity Center and Gus Garcia Rec Center
Age Group: all
Cost: free and donation
Beginner: Monday: Cedar Park 12:00 pm to 1:00 pm.Tuesday and Thursday: Pflugerville 10:00 am to 11:00 am. Tuesday: Lamar 2:00 pm to 3:00 pm. Wednesday: Gus Gracia 9:30 am to 11:00 am
Intermediate: Tuesday and Thursday 11:00 am to 12 pm
Nikki Simpson
Bio: I was introduced to line dancing at a New Year's Eve party in 2002! From the beginning, I taught line dance at various places around the state of Texas but did not become an official teacher until 2008. Line dancing always has been a major part of my life. I became accredited by the NTA (National Teachers Association of Dance) as a line dance instructor and served as the NTA Texas State Director for several years. I hosted the Jamboree Workshop for ten years. Presently, along with Cheryl Rogers, I co-host H.O.T. Heart of Texas Line Dance Event, an international event, and the annual Texas Line Dance Jamboree. Although line dance takes up most of my time, I manage to write a few books now and then and hang out with my grandson.
Class City: Allen, Irving, Richardson
Class Location: Allen (TX) Senior Rec Center; Heritage Senior Center in Irving, TX; and First Baptist Church of Richardson, TX
Age Group: all
Cost: various amounts
Beginner: Allen: Thursday 5:30 - 6:30 pm; Irving: Wednesday 1:00 -2:00 pm; Richardson: Friday 9:30 - 10:30 am
Improver: Irving: Wednesday 1:00 -2:00 pm; Richardson: Friday 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Intermediate: Irving: Wednesday 2:00 - 3:30 pm
Advanced: Irving: Wednesday 2:00 - 3:30 pm
Gordon Small
Bio: I was born in Cleveland, OH in 1946, moved to Tucson in 1947 and attended Catholic school until 10th grade. I dropped out of high school in my senior year lacking 1 credit for graduation and joined the Navy, got married, got out of the Navy and went to work for Texas Instruments in Dallas for 33 yrs. Got divorced, got married, got divorced, got married again. Retired, moved to KY then back to TX (Spring). My resume’ is at… Oh, you only wanted to know about line dancing? I started teaching line dancing in ~2005. I’m currently teaching Improver/Intermediate level in Tomball.
Class City: Tomball
Class Location: Tomball Community. Car. 221 Market St Tomball, TX
Age Group: all
Cost: Free
Improver: Tuesday & Friday 2:30 - 4:00 pm
Intermediate: Tuesday & Friday 2:30 - 4:00 pm
Lou Ann Smith
Bio: Line Dance Teacher at UMC Activities Center, 5217 82nd Street, Lubbock, TX. Have line danced since 2002. Became a teacher about 2004. I teach Improver, Intermediate, and Advanced dances. I have three classes a week.
Class City: Lubbock
Class Location: UMC Activities Center 5217 82nd Street, Lubbock, Texas 806-783-8829
Age Group: all
Cost: $5.00 per class or 59yrs or younger 1 year $215 60yrs or older 1 year $l85
Improver: Monday 1:15 pm
Intermediate: Monday 10:40 am
Advanced: Wednesday 10:40 am
Martha Smith
Bio: I began line dancing in 1995 and love sharing the joy of it with others. While the majority of dances we do in class is at the improver and/or intermediate level, we still do a beginner one or two in every class. Mostly, it's about keeping it FUN on the dance floor!!
Class City: Rockport, Texas
Class Location: Kinetic Movement Center, 1340 S. Young Street, Rockport, TX 78382
Age Group: all
Cost: $5.00 per class
Improver: Monday, Wednesday & Friday - 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Intermediate: Monday, Wednesday & Friday - 10:30 am - 12:00 pm
Susie Stamm
Bio: Began dancing January 2017 and began instructing June 2019.
Class City: Katy
Class Location: Rhythm Inc. Dance Studio
Age Group: all
Cost: $20/mo 1st class + $5/mo ea addt'l class
Intermediate: Tuesday 11:15 am - 12:15 pm & Thursday 9:15 - 11:15 am
Karen Steger
Bio: I teach an intermediate class on Tues and Thurs 10:30am til 11:30am. At Windermere club house thru Pflugerville Rec center
Class City: Pflugerville, Texas
Class Location: Windermere Club House through Pflugerville Rec Center
Age Group: 55+
Cost: $1.00 donation
Intermediate: Tuesday & Thursday 10:30 to 11:30 am
Marietta Stone
Bio: Line dancer since 2003. Experienced teacher in dance and music.
Class City: Houston TX
Class Location: Sugar Land Community Center
Age Group: 55+
Cost: Sugar Land residents free/fee for non residents
Improver: Monday 11:00 am - 12:15 pm

LIST OF INSTRUCTORS (By City & Alphabetically by Last Name)

Abilene:
Malcolm Price – maltornado1270@sbcglobal.net

Amarillo:
Suzanne Phillips – suzphil@msn.com

Austin:
Joan Cox – 64jcox@austin.rr.com
Mary Hoskins – mhoskins1961@gmail.com
Barbara Langham – balangham@hotmail.com (Austin/Roundrock)
Connie Shell – steppinoutcs@yahoo.com (Cedar Park)
Karen Steger – karensteger@sbcglobal.net

Beaumont:
Barbara Turner – bturner29@gt.rr.com

Belton:
Linda Lang – lindalang1296@gmail.com

Brownwood:
Pat Riley – patglynnriley@yahoo.com

College Station:
Nancy Chang – nancychangbcs@gmail.com
Patricia VanderBoom – kmpv@verizon.net

Dallas Area:
Karen Aubrey – kaubrey@aol.com (Dallas)
Kay Coder – kcoder@sbcglobal.net (Dallas)
Pat Damron – pat.damron@verizon.net (Garland)
Gail Donaldson – gail.donald@yahoo.com (Allen)
Tess Duke – contessaavril@gmail.com (Dallas)
Ann Ellis – ellisintx@gmail.com (Rockwall/Greenville)
Ann Goodman – agoodma@att.net (North Richland Hills)
Frances Halvorson – flh1943@outlook.com (Richardson)
Juliet Lam – lingling777@gmail.com (Richardson) – www.youtube.com/julietdanceNteach
Al McGee – talmcgee@yahoo.com (Fairview)
Ann Pettit – oapdq@hotmail.com (Garland)
Judy Rausch – judyrausch@gmail.com (Arlington)
Richard Rogers – rprogers5@aol.com (Dallas)
Nikki Simpson – rockinredrodeo@gmail.com (Allen/Irving/Richardson) – www.hotheartoftexas.com
Vi Smith – msundecided@hotmail.com

El Paso:
Joan Armstrong – jarmstro@elp.rr.com – www.youngatheartlinedance.com
Kathy Beltran – kbeltran@elp.rr.com
Armando Camacho – armandocamacho@bigplanet.com – www.roadrunnerlinedancers.com
Sonjia Crews – skayc@sbcglobal.net – www.youngatheartlinedance.com
Janice Henson – jannice.line.dancer@gmail.com
Angela Moshauer – iamm@sbcglobal.net – www.danceonusa.com
Marvin Moshauer – marvinm68@sbcglobal.net – www.danceonusa.com
Minnie Travis – minnietravis@yahoo.com – www.youngatheartlinedance.com

Fort Worth:
Judy Sides – exersides@gmail.com (Colleyville/Dallas/Duncanville/Euless/Southlake/North Richland Hills)
Penny Williams – willpennyjane@yahoo.com (Burleson)

Georgetown:
Kathy Perrine – katlar2@suddenlink.net
Betty Wyer – bettywyer2@gmail.com

Harlingen:
Donna Myers – linedancerdonna@yahoo.com

Hill Country:
Joan Hibler – thehappykicker@windstream.net

Houston:
Loy Anderson – emailtoloy@gmail.com (Crosby)
Elsa Campbell – elsacampbell@sbcglobal.net – www.whatadancer.com
Sandy Carouth – sandy@carouth.com
Linda Conard – lsc100@aol.com (Crosby)
Eva Gates – e-gates@comcast.net (Pearland)
Kenneth Gross – kdg12x12@att.net
Merilyn Jerome – meriljerome@gmail.com
Cassie Jones – bartcass@comcast.net (The Woodlands)
Carolyn Key – ckeyc123@gmail.com
Ramona Pace – ramonagerene@gmail.com
Ellen Paterson – shuna8@suddenlink.net (Montgomery)
Cheryl Rogers – cheryl.rogers5678@gmail.com – www.texaslinedancejamboree.com 
Gordon Small – dancer@glsmall.com (Spring)
Freddie Stark – freddiestark@aol.com (Tomball)

Keene:
LaNora Pickel – dlpickel@gmail.com

Kerrville:
Gerina Aarhus – raarhus@stx.rr.com
Ocine Behrens – obehrens@yahoo.com
Patsy Hardman – phard@stx.rr.com
Jeanette McDaniel – jeanrex0901@gmail.com
Regina Melms – rbmelms@icloud.com

Killeen:
Lori Mansfield – lmmansfie@msn.com (Killeen/Copperas Cove)
Athalie Southard – asouthard@hot.rr.com (Harker Heights/Killeen)

Longview:
Charles Archer – c.archer@att.net

Lubbock:
Kathy Cadenhead – kjcadenhead@gmail.com
Gail McCluskey – polka.stripes@gmail.com
Nancy Pawlik – pawlikn@yahoo.com
Lou Ann Smith – louasmith@sbcglobal.net

Mexia:
Jo Bryan – honk@glade.net

Mineola:
Barbara Rhodes – barbara0130@suddenlink.net

Mission:
Debra Rice – darice85@hotmail.com

New Braunsfels:
Michelle Schroeder – msdancegal@gmail.com – www.msdancegal.com
Miriam Weiss – twinkle@satx.rr.com

Odessa:
Judy Gaines – jchristelle50@gmail.com

Rockport:
Mary Reynolds – maryrey53@yahoo.com
Martha Smith – markitz@aol.com

San Angelo:
Gloria Henderson – jestme2@verizon.net

San Antonio:
Sylvia Braye – brayesylvia@yahoo.com
Julie Campbell – juliecam33@gmail.com
Nancy Cornelius – nlcornelius@satx.rr.com
Letty Gonzales – lettyg5528@yahoo.com
Fran Lineweaver – franc21sa@aol.com
Lupie Martinez – lmartinez425@satx.rr.com
Sharon McDonald – slm1218@gmail.com
Vernice Miller – starfish49@sbcglobal.net
Jon Osborn – osbornrv@aol.com
George Rollow – georollow@msn.com
Dora Sondhi – dorasondhi@gmail.com

Temple:
Kay Short – kshort@hot.rr.com

Tyler:
Gail Herring – mgh0623@gmail.com

Waco:
Doris Cox – doriscox@att.net
Jean Edwards – aedwards8ster@gmail.com (Waco)
Doris Kalal – happydancer78@yahoo.com

Wimberley:
Peggy Huddleston – phuddles@gvtc.com

Carlsbad, NM:
Jean Loafman – jeanloafman@gmail.com
Diane Prather – drprather@bajabb.com